National Emergency Medal


The National Emergency Medal is an operational service medal which recognises significant or sustained service to others in a nationally significant emergency. To date there are two elibible emergency of national significance since the award was created:

– Bushfires in Victoria in 2009

– Floods and cyclone in Queensland in 2010 and 2011



The National Emergency Medal was established by Her Majesty The Queen by Letters Patent and National Emergency Medal Regulations 2011, approved by The Queen on her visit to Australia in October 2011.

The National Emergency Medal is awarded to members of identified organisations or individuals who rendered a minimum duration of service during specified dates in specified places in response to nationally significant emergencies within Australia (sustained service); or to persons who rendered extraordinary service in response to such emergencies (significant service), that did not satisfy the minimum duration of service required to constitute sustained service.

Award Recipients

Current members

  • Younes Aly – 03 August 2013
  • Jennifer Schembri – 03 August 2013
  • Shane Lapworth – 03 August 2013
  • Timothy Ledger – 05 August 2013

Past members

  • Anthony Cook – 03 August 2013
  • Chris Gregory – 05 August 2013

Emergency Services Medal National Emergency Medal National Medal Long Service Medal Long Service Award Unit and Individual Awards