National Medal


The National Medal is an Australian award given for long service by operational members of specified eligible organisations. The medal recognised 15 years of diligent service by persons who serve or protect the community at the risk of death, injury or trauma. It is awarded only to members of the eligible organisations who are operationally deployed.


The National Medal was established in 1975 as one of the first three elements of the Australian honours system. When the medal was first introduced it recognised 15 years of diligent service by members of the Australian Defence Force, police, fire and ambulance services. In 1982, eligibility for the National Medal progressively expanded to include people who had participated in part-time and volunteer service, including VICSES.

Award Recipients

Current members

  • William Creed – 01 March 2004
  • Timothy Ledger – 13 November 2011
  • Alex Trovato  – 25 August 2018
  • Shane Lapworth – 25 August 2018
  • Younes Aly – 25 August 2018

Past members

  • John Gray – 16 February 1999
  • Raymont Loriot – 16 February 1999
  • Richard Lanchbery – 16 February 2015

Emergency Services Medal National Emergency Medal National Medal Long Service Medal Long Service Award Unit and Individual Awards